Portland Public Library   


Welcome

Portland Library
20 Freestone Avenue
Portland, CT 06480
Tel:  860-342-6770

Mon-Thurs 10:00a.m.- 8:00p.m. 
Fri & Sat    10:00a.m.- 5:00p.m.

Hours

Mon-Thurs 10:00a.m.- 8:00p.m. 
Fri & Sat    10:00a.m.- 5:00p.m.

Holiday Schedule

Information

Contact us!

Comments!

Directions to the Library!

Date/Time: 9/21/2017 10:00 AM 

Digital Library

Overdrive for eBooks

OneClick Digital link

 

 

ENCORE, our online catalog
LCI online catalogLibrary Connection is a consortium of 30 libraries (including Portland Library) that share a library catalog and resources.
Click here to go to the catalog.


Take a look at
NoveList for suggestions on books of different genres and for books in series order.


 

New! 

Hoopla

The digital media service that allows you to borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! With no waiting, titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. Hundreds of thousands of titles are available to choose from, with more being added daily.


 

Click on the Zinio for Libraries logo at left.

NEW ONLINE SERVICE - Zinio Magazines: 

For anyone holding a valid Portland Library card, a new collection of more than 60 online popular magazines is now available through ONE CLICK Digital. Use the Zinio for Libraries mobile app to read your magazines and check out magazines. You may keep the magazines on your device as long as you wish.  With no limit to the number who may check out an issue, the magazine you want is always available. EBooks are also available through One Click.  Visit the Library’s webpage at www.portlandlibraryct.org and find the links and instructions to use these services and many more, available 24/7. Or call 860-342-6770 for more information.

 

How much are the Library's services and materials actually worth to you?
Click the calculator on the left and input the average amount of materials borrowed, services used, and programs attended at the Portland Library.  The value of all those "free" activities may surprise you!

Book Lists Just for YOU!

2016 Summer Reading Lists

PMS Summer Reading List

PHS Summer Reading List

 


Other Great Booklists for Teens

YALSA's Teens Top Ten 2016 Booklistread these popular books and VOTE on your favorite in October 2016!

Summer Reading Flowchart: Follow this flowchart of great books to find the perfect read for you!

Read-alikes for Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games For fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games

Search Engines
Library Programs

Want to attend a Portland Library program?
Many of the programs at the Portland Library require registration.
To register for a program, telephone the Library, ask at the Library's Information Desk, or click on CALENDAR.

Program Information:  ADULT, CHILDREN, and TEEN!